Public Funds Roundtable 2020

Oct 19th - Oct 21st 2020
The Beverly Hilton
Los Angeles


The Public Funds Roundtable previously scheduled for July 13-16 has been rescheduled to October 19-21, 2020.


Your life was consumed by noise.

Jim Cramer on CNBC franticly gesticulating about the latest 2% “correction”.

A board member asking exhausting questions about the latest non-event in trade negotiations.

A participant wanting to know, ex post, why you invested in a strategy that underperformed over a three-month timeframe.

And yes, even Institutional Investor occasionally stretching for its seventh published story of the day.

Then came the devastating signal: the COVID-19 pandemic.

Everything changed in March. Markets cratered. Investors were homebound. Thousands of people lost their lives to the disease.

As we emerge from the human and financial destruction, there has never been a more important time to speak with your peers and partners, face-to-face, about picking up the pieces. To focus on the strategies and tactics that will allow you to deliver much-needed capital to your participants. And to focus on resetting the theories, practices, and fallacies of institutional investing.

In short, it’s time to ignore the noise – and focus on the essential.

View the Full 2020 Public Funds Roundtable Agenda

Members of AII, please view the AII member agenda. Members of III, please view the III member agenda.

2020 Advisory Board

We thank our 2020 Advisory Board for their input into this year's agenda.

Christopher J. Ailman

Cheryl D. Alston
Employees' Retirement Fund of the City of Dallas

Corey Amon
State of New Jersey Division of Investments

Jase Auby
Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS)

Derek Brodersen
Alberta Teachers Retirement Fund

Elizabeth Burton
Hawaii Employees' Retirement System

Gary Bruebaker
formerly Washington State Investment Board

T.J. Carlson
Texas Municipal Retirement System

Scott Chan

Matthew L. Clark
South Dakota Investment Council

Elizbaeth Crisafi
San Diego City Employees' Retirement System

Bruce H. Cundick
Utah Retirement Systems

James C. Davis

Steve Davis
Sacramento County Employees' Retirement System (SCERS)

Alex Doñé
New York City Retirement Systems

Mohamed Elkordy
Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company

Marcus Frampton
Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation

Dominic J. Garcia
State of New Mexico Public Employees Retirement System

Andrew Greene
Toronto Transit Commission Pension Fund

Paul Greff
Ohio Public Employees Retirement System

James H. Grossman
Pennsylvania Public School Employees' Retirement System

David Hunter
North Dakota Retirement and Investment Office

Craig A. Husting
Public School & Education Employee Retirement Systems of Missouri

Robert Jacksha
New Mexico Educational Retirement Board

Janet Julé
Saskatchewan Healthcare Employees' Pension Plan

David Kaposi
Ontario Power Generation

Farouki Majeed
Ohio School Employees Retirement System

Sam Masoudi
Wyoming Retirement System

Robert M. Maynard
Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho

Scott McIntosh
Ontario Municipal Employees' Retirement System (OMERS)

Daryn Miller
Kern County Employees' Retirement Association

Angela Miller-May
Chicago Public School Teacher's Pension

Molly A. Murphy
Orange County Employees Retirement System

Prabhu Palani
City of San Jose Department of Retirement Services

Andrew C. Palmer
Maryland State Retirement & Pension Systems

Mansco Perry
Minnesota State Board of Investment 

Donald Pierce
San Bernardino County Employees' Retirement Association

Timothy Price
Contra Costa County Employees' Retirement Association

R. Stanley Rupnik
Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois

Stephen Sexauer 
San Diego County Employees Retirement Association

David Silber
City of Milwaukee Employees' Retirement System

J. Scott Simon
Colorado Fire & Police Pension Association

Anthony Smith
Seattle City Employees' Retirement System

Robert "Vince" Smith
New Mexico State Investment Council

Jon Spinney
Vestcor Investment Management Corporation

Alec Stais 
Employees Retirement System of Rhode Island

Mario A. Therrien
Caisse de depot et placement du Quebec (CDPQ)

Michael G. Trotsky
Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board (MassPRIM)

Tom Tull
Employees Retirement System of Texas

David Veal
City of Austin Employees' Retirement System

David Villa
State of Wisconsin Investment Board

Michael Walden-Newman
City of Milwaukee Employees' Retirement System

Michael Weinberg 
APG Asset Management

Ashbel C. Williams
Florida State Board of Administration

Casey Wolf
Texas County & District Retirement System


Registration is limited to investment executives from pensions funds. If you are a member of the Alternative Investor Institute, please register here, Institutional Investor Institute members should register here.


GDPR Consent Notice

I’d like to receive exclusive news, content and offers from Institutional Investor and other Euromoney group company products and services by:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of any communications we send you. You can also visit our preference centre.

Privacy Notice | Terms & Conditions


The Beverly Hilton

9876 Wilshire Blvd
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
United States


Opened in 1955 by distinguished hotelier Conrad Hilton, The Beverly Hilton, a Forbes Four-Star hotel, combines the excitement and entertainment of Hollywood with the prestige of Beverly Hills. Nestled at the crossroads of the iconic Wilshire and Santa Monica Boulevards, the hotel features 569 guestrooms designed to evoke the best of relaxed Californian living, including 101 suites with panoramic city views and inviting indoor-outdoor living spaces as well as nine private luxury suites within The Penthouse Collection.


Institutional Investors

Katarina Storfer

Investment Consultants

Carolyn Leven